Follow Us

SportsMinister Inaugurates Board Of Paralympic Committee Nigeria

Minister Inaugurates Board Of Paralympic Committee Nigeria

The minister of sports and youth development, Mr Sunday Dare, has inaugurated the newly elected board members of the Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN) with a charge to ensure inclusiveness for the purpose of maintaining podium performances in all competitions across the globe.

Inaugurating the board on Tuesday at the Stephen Keshi Stadium Asaba, Delta State; Dare expressed confidence that with the calibre of members elected, Nigeria is sure to record more accolades through its paralympians.

According to Dare, in a press statement signed by Mohammed Manga, director of press and public relations, Federal Ministry of Sports and Youth Development, para-sports is one of the games that has lifted Nigeria’s flag high in global events and as such, the athletes need encouragement and support to enhance their performances.

He therefore called on the new board to bring their wealth of experience and knowledge to bear in ensuring a proper administration of the sporting activities of paralympians in the country.

While congratulating the new board headed by Odebode Sunday on their election, he thanked the Delta State government for agreeing to host the Congress.

Speaking earlier, permanent secretary, Federal Ministry of Sports and Youth Development, Alhaji Ismaila Abubakar, assured the new board members that the Ministry will continue to provide an enabling environment for the realisation of the present Administration’s policy as it affects Paralympians
Represented by the director, Federation, Elites and Athletes Development (FEAD), Dr Simon Ebhojaiye, Abubakar therefore charged the new elected board members to justify the confidence reposed on them by the electorate and members.

Responding, the newly elected president, Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN), Mr. Odebode Sunday, assured that under their tenure, Nigeria is sure to witness more podium appearances from the athletes.
The Newly elected Board Members of the Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN) are as follows.

Odebode Sunday – President
Shodipo Ayinde – 1st Vice President
Ugwunwa Flora – 2nd VP & Female Athlete Representative
Isah Suleiman – Secretary General
Agbado Douglas – Asst. Secretary General
Ettington Rafiu Olawale – Treasurer
Asaba Pius Idowu – South West
North East – Suspended
Ezeikpe Chinedu – South East
Adisa Lukman Abefe – North Central
Bungon Dauda – North West


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Share post:


More like this

Power Is Ephemeral, Akinnola tell Nyesom Wike

The Honorable minister of FCT, Ezenwo Nyesom Wike has...

Dickson Akoh Lauds Tinubu On New Appointment Of Two Idoma Sons

The Oyachaba K'Idoma, Dr. Dickson Akoh has extended his...

Ojema Congratulates Moro On Appointment As Senate Minority Leader

Hon. Ojotu Ojema, Member representing Apa/Agatu Federal Constituency in...

Otukpo Bank Robbery: Sen. Moro Pay Last Respect To DPO, Late John Adikwu

Senator Abba Moro, the senator representing Benue South Senatorial...